top of page

“My life is just accidents. I meet the right people and I am open. So things happen.” One of the wor


Robert Shemin – “My life is just accidents. I meet the right people and I am open. So things happen.” One of the world’s most sought after Real Estate Guru, Robert Shemin became a millionaire by the age of 32. Robert overcame dyslexia and became a New York Times Best seller author for his books, How Come That Idiot’s Rich & I’m Not? And “Secrets of a Millionaire Real Estate Investor”. He will tell us the key ingredients to successful Real Estate investing. Robert has been interviewed about real estate for about three hundred different articles, and currently on tour with the Real Estate Expo. J:I think not everyone gets hit by a streak of luck… R: I don’t think there is such a thing called luck. We all have opportunity every day, and most of the time, we are closed to them. If you are open to them, then people think you are lucky. J: If that is the circumstance, could you tell us how you got into real estate? R: It was an accident. I wasn’t interested in real estate. So when you are not interested in something, you are more open and you are not analyzing and debating things. I was working in financial planning insurance. I was referred to a wealthy gentleman, so I went to meet him. He kind of blindsided me. He was a very simple man. He had no background, no education, and no rich family. I thought he was broke. I didn’t think he would qualify for our insurance and financial planning program since I had to work with very wealthy people. But He showed me he had over 120 houses paid for, and made billions of dollars a year in real estate. He takes 6 months a year of vacation. So I thought, if he can make this, I can. So I hired him to show me how to do real estate. The first year, I didn’t do anything. I kept my job. And within a year and a half to two years, I had 14 duplexes, and got $6,000 a month tax free. It was a lot of money for me at the time, and I was financially set. That’s how I started. J: According to you, what are the attributes of success in real estate? R: It’s very simple. Believe it or not, real estate investing is pretty simple. People complicated it. It is activities. And most of the people won’t do the activities. It is a numbers game. It is the numbers of contacts, numbers of phone calls, and numbers of deals to work at. If you do enough activities, you will have results. But most people quit, don’t do the activities. I think the difference is, we make a lot of offers, and get a lot of deals. We don’t get all of them, but we get enough of them.

J: It’s interesting talking about not giving up. But I wish to bring back and ask about your Why. I think a lot of people are interested why you are constantly motivated to do these talks about Real Estate. R: It is D.O.T. It stands for Desire, Optimistic Attitude, and Training. D stands for Desire. That is the number 1 determining factor to your why. Second, you have the right attitude. You need to be Optimistic, not negative, and skeptical. But you can be the most optimistic person, do nothing and make no money. But for me. You have to know what you are doing, that stands for Training. But you can be trained and not do anything. Now, I take my Real Estate money, and put it in different charitable organizations. In the end of the day, I make money in real estate, and I place money to help charities. One thing my teacher taught me is: “If you help one person, you help the world. Do one person at the time.”

J: In your perspective, what are the key characteristics to a great negotiator? R: Negotiation is a skill, you practice. Number 1 is, Practice. Number 2 is, Ask questions. Number 3 is, learn to be a better communicator. The highest paying people in the world are good communicators. So take an acting class, take an NLP (Neuro-Linguistic Programming), take a hypnosis class and practice. Asking why is the real motivation reason. Most position of negotiation is knowing your position going in, be flexible, and be a really good listener. It’s not what I want to do, it’s what they want to do. What is their motivation, what is their core values, what motivates them? It’s not what I want to do, it is what they want to do. So once you know that, you can deal with that. And have no emotion and no attachment. When you are emotionally attached to the negotiation campaign, you become a good negotiator.

J: Why can’t you be emotional? R: When you are emotional, you are going to get upset. And it is a delicate balance in life to have desire and attachments. There’s a delicate balance between the middle road, and how you carry on with the middle road. You can’t

have a desire to have that house, and want that deal. Business and negotiation is a fun game, and you got to enjoy the game. Because if you let it get into your head, you are going to mess up. Robert’s 3- 4 book recommendation • The bible • The Holographic Universe • The power versus force • The female brain

To learn more about Robert, please go to: https://www.robertshemin.com/


RECENT POST
bottom of page