top of page

"Finding a good business partner, it is having the right values." - Co-founder of Icosa, J




As every business goes through ups and downs, do you and your partner, Vance, ever go through conflicts?

Yes, everyday. But we are still good friends. We both recognize it’s hard to find someone that is willing to face the challenges together. We balance each other out really well, and we each have skills compliment each other. We know we are both better together than without. We are both aligned in our purpose and what we want to do in our lives.


So how do you find a co-founder that compliments you?

I would like to say I was lucky, but I think luck a combination of preparedness and being open to the opportunity. Having worked with him in university and the same marketing company, I recognized that we had skill sets that complimented each other. So when I was ready to leave my job, I asked him if he wanted to create a video company together, which later evolved into what it is now. Looking back it’s clear to me not that finding a good business partner is about having the right values. (Quote)

It’s almost like looking for a life partner, especially when you are starting a new company. It’s not about good looks, not the personality, or how good his jokes are. It’s about your values and your culture when you’re together.


I’ve interviewed a lot of wedding couples, and most of them are opposites in terms of personality types. For example one would be quiet, while the other is outgoing; one would be adventurous, while the other is risk averse; one would be talkative, while the other is timid. I wondered why there would be so many polar opposites that would get along so well together, and I realized that the one thing that kept them together was the values that they shared. The same principle applies to companies and businesses partners. The stronger your values are tied to each other, the more likely you are to succeed.


What do you think when your worth is being challenged?

I think your worth is not challenged by anyone except yourself. We are meaning making machines. We create meaning out of everything in our lives. If someone close to you says he doesn’t like your shoes, you may take it to mean he doesn’t like you. But if a stranger were to say the same thing, you’d normally not take anything personal from it. In these two events, you’re the common denominator and you’re the only person creating the meaning. If you ever find yourself being challenged, take it as an opportunity to reflect and ask yourself why you’re challenging your self worth, and how can you improve.


What kind of educational system do you want to recreate?

I believe in using my talents and my purpose to serve people. My talent is to create videos and my purpose is to inspire people to live to their higher purpose. When I create a video, I want viewers to be moved and inspired by the story, because emotion is a more powerful motivator than logic. By creating videos that connect deeply to people on an emotional level, it will leave lasting impression on them and more importantly get them to take action in their lives.


Recently, I was approached by a client to create a promotional video for their ophthalmology practice. On the surface, the core of their business is to give patients their vision back, but I believe that more than eyesight, they give people the freedom to live their lives without the burden of glasses or contact lenses. By taking this approach, I want people to see beyond just the logic of a simple purchasing decision and explore how it impacts their livelihood in a positive way. This same approach is what I want to use to educate people about living with mindfulness, gratitude and empowerment. More importantly I want to inspire people discover their purpose.





RECENT POST
bottom of page