top of page

Bobby Umar's Follow-up tip: "Gratitude, context, go for the ask, and keep it concise."



6 – I also wanted to ask about the effective way of networking? How do you follow up properly?


The first thing you do is follow up. Most people don’t follow up. Some people are asking me for an opportunity, and then I suggest them to send me a resume right away but I never hear back. Or they send me a resume, and I ask them if they want to meet, but they don’t follow up for two weeks. And then I ask them if they want to meet up. And I do not hear from them for two weeks.


Respond quickly and with gratitude. If you are willing to just ask:” Hey, Thank you! Can I ask you a question?” You are way ahead in the game and ahead of the 80% of the people out there.

The big thing is: gratitude, context, go for the ask, and keep it concise. So when I send an email to someone on LinkedIn, I tell them: 1. how grateful I am to meet the person at a specific event, 2. I appreciate the work they do in, 3. I ask them a specific question.


7 – I wanted to ask why you decided to become an Artistic Director and also a producer. I saw your expertise in Second City and also Bad Dog.


When you look at my career in brand marketing or in performing arts, teaching and engineering, it all links to what I do. Teaching and engineering taught me how to be analytical. Brand marketing taught me how to understand branding and marketing, and communicate in an effective way. Theater taught me about persuasion, selling, improvising, and adaptability. The performing arts experience helps me on stage, in webinars, and allows me to improvise when I need to and makes me a better speaker.


8 - This one is a question from the audience: What do you think is the best approach to talk to a manager, when you don’t have a clear direction of how projects should be carried through?


It is important to have a manager that champions you and supports you. You need to address that the company wants growth, productivity and then link it to the values of the company. If you can tie this with the vision and mission of the company, how can a boss complain that you are trying to be more productive and make more money and make him look better?

If you rely in this method, you are going to have a better conversation. And once you tell them that, how they respond will tell you a lot about themselves. If their response is negative, that’s when you have to go somewhere else. If you have a bad manager who is not aligned with you, know that they are already building a case against you.


What is your word of recommendations for young entrepreneurs out there?


First: Have your ideas, Question it, disseminate it, get your idea challenged, and get feedback.

Second: you need to know your Why, and your mission. Know the people you serve and their pain/bliss points.

Three: Generate a great revenue model that makes sense

Forth: Network and build relationships

Fifth: What kind of thought leadership brand do you have, and how you will make it happen?

Sixth: It is also important to stay connected with your community of people. Because there will be dark days, and hard days and you want to have a community that supports you.

Seventh: And most importantly, get a business coach that can help you drive your business.

Want to connect with Bobby?

LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/bobbyumar/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/raehanbobby

Twitter: @raehanbobby

Instagram: @raehanbobby

Website: www.raeallan.com

YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/raehanbobby


RECENT POST
bottom of page